2020 -- Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate and Professional Education, University of Minnesota. Confers membership in the University’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

2018 -- Inspirational Vision Research Award, NIH National Eye Institute “established in recognition of the 50th Anniversary of the National Eye Institute, honors research to preserve the independence and quality of life of individuals with low vision or blindness.”

2016 -- Indiana University Distinguished Borish Scholar Award “for exceptional research and scholarly contributions made related to vision, patient care, clinical research, and scientific education.”

2015 -- Helen Keller Laureate. The Helen Keller Foundation for Research and Education and the BrightFocus Foundation awarded the Helen Keller Prize for Vision Research jointly to Gordon E. Legge and Robert W. Massof “in recognition of their outstanding contributions to vision research.” This prize is awarded in support of Helen Keller’s wish to “hasten the day when there shall be no preventable blindness.”

2013 -- Charles F. Prentice Medal Award from the American Academy of Optometry "In recognition of contributions to the advancement of knowledge in the visual sciences." This is the Academy’s highest honor for achievements in research.

2010 -- Access Achievement Award from the University of Minnesota "for making a significant contribution in improving access for the University community" 2010 Envision Award for Low-Vision Research

2010 -- Biennial award from the Association for Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired (AER) for "outstanding contributions in research and/or literature in low vision"

2009 -- Fellow, Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO).  Awarded Gold Fellow status in 2010.

2008 -- Honorary doctorate from the State University of New York—Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa, awarded "For the momentous contributions you have made to vision science research, and to enhanced quality of life for people with low vision"

2007 -- Fellow, Association for Psychological Science (APS), awarded "in recognition of outstanding achievements in the field of psychological science"

2006 -- Honorary Doctorate from the University of Montreal - d octorat honoris causa for l'Ecole d'optometrie at the Universite de Montreal

2003 -- Dean's Medal, College of Liberal Arts, University of Minnesota (Awarded each year to "a member of the CLA faculty who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and/or creative activity")

1996 -- Distinguished McKnight University Professor "in recognition of scholarly achievements that have brought honor and distinction to the University of Minnesota, with all the rights, privileges and responsibilities attached thereto."

1995 -- Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science "for rigorous research on fundamental mechanisms in vision and for the extension of this work to understanding and remedying the problems of people with impaired vision"

1995 -- Distinguished Service Award, American Optometric Association. Presented to a non-optometrist "for outstanding contributions to low vision care and distinguished service to the visual welfare of the public."

1994 -- Pisart Vision Award, The Lighthouse Inc. Presented to a person who "shall have distinguished himself or herself by invention or otherwise, in the prevention, cure, treatment or care of blindness."

1990 -- Glenn A. Fry Award, American Academy of Optometry

1987 -- MERIT Award, National Institutes of Health - National Eye Institute, in recognition of unusual distinction in vision research.

1976-77 -- Medical Research Council of Canada Postdoctoral Fellowship

1975-76 -- National Research Council of Canada Postgraduate Fellowship

1973-75 -- Canada Council Doctoral Fellowship

1971-73 -- Harvard University Scholarship

1971-72 -- Woodrow Wilson Fellowship

1971 -- Phi Beta Kappa

1967-71 -- King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Scholarship for the Province of Ontario

Gordon and AAO President Bernard Dolan both wearing suits, holding the Prentice Medal between them.

Presentation of the Prentice Medal to Gordon from AAO President Bernard Dolan, October 25th, 2013. 

Gordon and President David A. Heath standing on stage, at a podium, wearing graduation robes and caps.

Gordon receiving an honorary doctoral degree from the State University of New York (SUNY) College of Optometry. The presentation was made by President David A. Heath at the college graduation ceremony, held on June 1, 2008, at the Hudson Theater near Times Square in New York City.

Gordon Legge being presented with an honorary doctorate from University of Montreal president Monsieur Luc Vinet and vice president Jacques Fremont, all three are wearing graduation caps and robes.

Univerisity of Minnesota professor Gordon Legge, center, was presented an honorary doctorate June 2, 2006 by University of Montreal president Monsieur Luc Vinet, left, and vice president Jacques Fremont, right.